---
library students in labLibraries of Adelphi___

Overview

Help & How To's

Services & Policies

University Archives &
Special Collections


Hours & Locations

Contacts & Directories

About the Adelphi Libraries

Research Guides and Help| Reference Tools


Other Reference Links

Acronyms and Abbreviations
The WorldWideWeb Acronym and Abbreviation Server

College Information
Financial Aid
Student Loans (Kaplan Educational Centers)
Embark.com
Scholarship Search
Your Best College Buys Now

Dates
CalendarZone

Expert Help
Ask an Expert
Allexperts.com

Federal Government
Weblink to federal information
Catalog of United States Government Publications
U.S. Census
Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet
Library of Congress
Library of Congress Primary source collection

Internet Tutorial
University of Arizona Tutorials

Languages
A web of online dictionaries
A web of online grammars
Translation with SYSTRAN

Long Island
Long Island Business Directory & Shopping Guide
Long Island Libraries
Long Island: Our Story Home Page

Medical Information
Medscape
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy 17th ed. 1999
Merck Manual of Geriatrics 2nd ed. 1995
Merck Manual of Medical Information, Home Edition 1997

Meta-Search Engines
(Online indexes that automatically submit your search to several search engines and display all the results.)
Starting Point
All-in-One Page

Newpapers
The New York State Newspaper Project
Newsday
NY Times

Quotations
Familiar Quotations: John Bartlett 1901
Quotations (Bartleby Library, Great Books Online)
The Quotations Page

Search Engines
(Online indexes that permit you to search for topics by keyword, phrases and combined terms.)
AltaVista
Electric Library
An index to periodical articles and a source of the full-text. Electric Library charges $9.95 per month for delivery of the articles.
Hot Bot
InfoSeek
Northern Light
An index to periodical articles and a source of the
full-text. Northern Light charges $1 to $4 per article for delivery.
Yahoo
Google

Special Collections and Primary Sources

Annenberg Rare Book & Manuscript Library of the University of Pennsylvania

EDSITEment: The Best of Humanities on the Web from the NEH
Library Research Using Primary Sources (UC Berkeley)

Lilly Library, Indiana University's Rare Book and Manuscript Library

MIT Libraries: Institute Archives and Special Collections
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NCMC)
Archival and Manuscript Repositories in the U.S.
Primary Sources on the Web (UC Berkeley)

Publisher's Bindings Online (1815-1930): The Art of Books

Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University
Repository of Primary Sources, University of Idaho
Special Collections of the University of Virginia Library
Yale University Library Research Education: Subject Guides and Tutorials
(Includes Strategies for locating Primary Sources at Yale and Using Manuscripts & Archives: A Tutorial (Yale) )

Virtual Reference Collections
(Websites linked to many online reference sources, e.g. online encyclopedias, directories, style manuals, etc)
The Virtual Reference Collection (Suffolk County, NY Libraries)
The Online Reference Shelf (Hofstra University)
The Virtual Reference Room (Port Washington Public Library)
My Virtual Reference Desk (Bob Drudge)
Links to Other Libraries (Dowling College)
Online Dictionaries, Glossaries and Encyclopedias (Texas A&M Dept of Oceanography)

Who's Who?
Biography.com

Yellow Pages
BigBook
Zip Codes
USPS Zip Code Lookup


Contact
For additional information, please contact:

Adelphi University Library
Reference Desk
Adelphi University
P.O. BOX 701
Garden City, NY 11530-0701

p - 516.877.3574

Back to Top of Page